UNICARE

Reviewers
Male / Female
Recommend
Yes / No
Number of Reviews Coverage Claims Customer Service Cost Total Average Rating
3 / 15 1 / 17 18 2.27 2.00 1.68 2.73 2.17

Date Submitted: December 17, 2010
Insurance Provider: UNICARE in Kentucky
Coverage: 3 out of 10
Claims: 1 out of 10
Customer Service: 1 out of 10
Cost: 1 out of 10
Recommend: No
Review: Borderline illegal
Unicare has been terrible to work with. If I didn't know my coverage to a T, I would have ended up paying around $6-8,000 out of pocket that should have been covered by my plan. I've had to fight to get things covered that my plan clearly covers. Each time I call, someone tells me something different, they are inconsistent and dishonest.
Comments [ 2 ]
Submitted by: disgustedwithunicare
27 year-old   ::   Female Reviewer   ::   Kentucky

Date Submitted: October 28, 2010
Insurance Provider: UNICARE in Virginia
Coverage: 2 out of 10
Claims: 2 out of 10
Customer Service: 2 out of 10
Cost: 1 out of 10
Recommend: No
Review: Unicare cancell health insurance in Virginia
Unicare cancelled all of virginia,,,I am 50yo with indie health insurance plan..as of dec 31, 2010,,,they are ending all...where do i go now? what is reasonable,,,,Help me! What are the other 3,000 people doing?
Comments [ 1 ]
Submitted by: schmityk
50 year-old   ::   Female Reviewer   ::   Alexandria, Virginia

Date Submitted: August 16, 2010
Insurance Provider: UNICARE in Illinois
Coverage: 1 out of 10
Claims: 1 out of 10
Customer Service: 1 out of 10
Cost: 1 out of 10
Recommend: No
Review: unprofessional, unreliable, ignorant of basics
The claims process is a nightmare. Calliing to follow-up just compounds the nightmare. It's a full time job to follow-up. We have been taken to collections for the 5th time due to a lack of coordination by Unicare. It's a joke trying to talk to someone- it needs to change.
Comments [ 0 ]
Submitted by: Ticked off customer
40 year-old   ::   Female Reviewer   ::   Illinois

Date Submitted: June 17, 2010
Insurance Provider: UNICARE in Texas
Coverage: 1 out of 10
Claims: 1 out of 10
Customer Service: 1 out of 10
Cost: 1 out of 10
Recommend: No
Review: Unicare Sucks!
I had Unicare insurance through my employer for a number of years. When I needed them, I discovered they really suck! Had a carotid stent procedure in December. Yes, I called re pre authorization, Dr office called twice, hospital called! Unicare told all of us that pre authorization wasn't necessary! When the claim was filed, Unicare denied it because they consider this procedure experimental! So why didn't thay say something to someone before I went to the hospital!!?? That procedure is done here several times a day---my Mother had one 6 months before mine. Apparently, Unicare would have preferred for me to wait 6 to 8 weeks with 80% blockage for a surgeon! Wish they had told me that! My firm was changing insurance companies the next month and I would have waited for a better company! Unicare always did do whatever they could NOT to pay a claim or any part of a claim. I understand they don't write insurance in Texas anymore!! Good news for us!!
Comments [ 0 ]
Submitted by: Jude
63 year-old   ::   Female Reviewer   ::   Wichita Falls, Tx

Date Submitted: November 4, 2009
Insurance Provider: UNICARE in Texas
Coverage: 8 out of 10
Claims: 10 out of 10
Customer Service: 8 out of 10
Cost: 7 out of 10
Recommend: Yes
Review: I have never had problems with Unicare.
I have never had issues with my Unicare plan. I don't know what plan these other people are on but they have always paid my claims within 2 days. My son has had 2 emergency surgeries in two years and because it was emergency I only paid $100 out of pocket. They paid over $12,000 for each one of the surgeries and not once did they ever fight the claim. My rate has increased over the last 7 years but that is happening with every insurance company. I require over $400 a month in medicine and they have never not paid for it.
Comments [ 1 ]
Submitted by: Michelle
36 year-old   ::   Female Reviewer   ::   Fort Worth, Texas

Date Submitted: August 30, 2009
Insurance Provider: UNICARE in Illinois
Coverage: 1 out of 10
Claims: 1 out of 10
Customer Service: 2 out of 10
Cost: 1 out of 10
Recommend: No
Review: unethical, dishonest practices
These people blatantly lied to me and my husband, saying that the doctors we saw were not in network. Upon further investigation in all cases we found that the doctors were in network and we had to continue calling unicare until they admitted this. They will do anything, including deceptive practices, to avoid paying claims. Is this even legal???
Comments [ 0 ]
Submitted by: anon
32 year-old   ::   Female Reviewer   ::   illinois

Date Submitted: August 22, 2009
Insurance Provider: UNICARE in Texas
Coverage: 2 out of 10
Claims: 2 out of 10
Customer Service: 1 out of 10
Cost: 5 out of 10
Recommend: No
Review: Unicare is the worst!
Unicare regularly refuses to pay the promised 80% for doctors within their own PPO. My daughter had her wisdom teeth removed for a reasonable $1785. Unicare's payout - $343!

Similarly with hand surgery, Unicare only paid 50% on their own recommended surgeon, when they promised to pay 80%.

Unicare are liars, do NOT buy Unicare insurance. I can only hope that boards like these will put Unicare out of business.
Comments [ 0 ]
Submitted by: Dale
53 year-old   ::   Male Reviewer   ::   Dallas, TX

Date Submitted: August 11, 2009
Insurance Provider: UNICARE in Washington DC
Coverage: 1 out of 10
Claims: 1 out of 10
Customer Service: 1 out of 10
Cost: 1 out of 10
Recommend: No
Review: Dont use Unicare, they truly are NOT GOOD!
Failed to cover a simple physical and rude customer service, sorry if i ask you to explain why i am not covered going to the same doctor i have always gone to for just a physical ...they are just bad. Trust me. (or don't you'll find out)
Comments [ 0 ]
Submitted by: KJ
42 year-old   ::   Male Reviewer   ::   Washington DC

Date Submitted: March 6, 2009
Insurance Provider: UNICARE in Texas
Coverage: 1 out of 10
Claims: 1 out of 10
Customer Service: 1 out of 10
Cost: 1 out of 10
Recommend: No
Review: Stay away from
Not only do they cover nothing, I actually at one point got someone on the phone who told me the truth about how our claim should be covered...I never heard from her again and the coudtomer service dept. said she did not exist.. I think they are killing people over there if they help a customer
Comments [ 0 ]
Submitted by: mel
41 year-old   ::   Female Reviewer   ::   texas

Date Submitted: January 7, 2009
Insurance Provider: UNICARE in Indiana
Coverage: 1 out of 10
Claims: 1 out of 10
Customer Service: 1 out of 10
Cost: 1 out of 10
Recommend: No
Review: DON'T BUY UNICARE!
Oh where do I begin? Let's see... Didn't cover office visits that they were supposed to cover. The office sent them the claim 4 times over 10 months and they kept saying they never got it. It took me 10 months to get them to finally pay it, only after I drove around to 3 different doctors, paid for my own medical records, and faxed it to them myself 3 times! On one phone call I literally sat on hold for an entire HOUR before I got someone. Our premium has gotten higher and higher every year. Last month I got notice that it's going up FIFTY DOLLARS a month! Don't bother paying attention to the deductible! We've met ours at least 4 times this year. Each time we get the explanation of benefits, it says the amount billed by the doctor is in excess of what they allow. As if all of that isn't bad enough, they actually charge us $20 a year to send us the bill through the mail! STAY AWAY FROM UNICARE!
Comments [ 1 ]
Submitted by: Unicare Stinks
29 year-old   ::   Female Reviewer   ::   Greenwood, IN

Date Submitted: September 16, 2008
Insurance Provider: UNICARE in Texas
Coverage: 1 out of 10
Claims: 1 out of 10
Customer Service: 1 out of 10
Cost: 1 out of 10
Recommend: No
Review: Premiums increase every 6 months!
Every six months, my premium has increased by approximately $100.00 each time. We pay all medical bills, well visits and doctor visits ourselves, as they don't cover any of it til we meet a high deductibla.
Comments [ 0 ]
Submitted by: Nancy
50 year-old   ::   Female Reviewer   ::   Texas

Date Submitted: August 29, 2008
Insurance Provider: UNICARE in Illinois
Coverage: 1 out of 10
Claims: 1 out of 10
Customer Service: 1 out of 10
Cost: 1 out of 10
Recommend: No
Review: Beware of Unicare!!!
They need to remove care out of the name Unicare.Because they don't care.My wife is a type 1 diabetic.She has been fighting to keep her sugar under control for 5 years.On her last doctor visit.She was informed she would lose her kidney function if she didn't get her sugar under control.Her doctor gave her a prescrption for an insulin pump.The doctor said this would be her best chance to keep her sugar under control.Unicare denied her claim for lack of information.The medical info was provided and the claim was denied again.This time it was denied because Unicare claimed it wasn't medically needed.My wife will never be able to get her levels under control without this insulin pump and she will not be able to have a baby without it either.I got nothing but a runaround from Unicare. I do not know what else to do.They promote awareness for diabetics.But they wont pay for supplies that will improve the quality of life.Thanks for not caring Unicare!
Comments [ 1 ]
Submitted by: James P. Ullery
41 year-old   ::   Male Reviewer   ::   Crest Hill,Illinois

Date Submitted: May 12, 2008
Insurance Provider: UNICARE in Illinois
Coverage: 4 out of 10
Claims: 2 out of 10
Customer Service: 1 out of 10
Cost: 4 out of 10
Recommend: No
Review: Poor Customer Service
UniCare is a terrible insurance company. The customer service is awful. A simple change of address turns into a battle. The employees are extremely unimformed. I would definitley recommend buying elsewhere. Save yourself the stress!! Also, they did not cover my son's well visits or immunizations. Sad! Most insurance companies cover this because it is preventive care.
Comments [ 0 ]
Submitted by: LW
26 year-old   ::   Female Reviewer   ::   Deerfield

Date Submitted: March 1, 2008
Insurance Provider: UNICARE in Texas
Coverage: 5 out of 10
Claims: 5 out of 10
Customer Service: 2 out of 10
Cost: 5 out of 10
Recommend: No
Review: Accounts Receivable Sucks!
We pay quarterly. They lost my check so I paid by phone only to have the check hit my account a month later??!! After resolving that my following payment was not recorded correctly. It showed the dental was paid but not the health which couldn't be possible because it is all paid on the same check??! Again, go figure. So then they canceled me even though I had paid through the next two months. It took forever to get things straight. I never really had any large claims. Makes me shutter to think how they would mess that up!
Comments [ 0 ]
Submitted by: Shoozie
55 year-old   ::   Female Reviewer   ::   Houston

Date Submitted: September 17, 2007
Insurance Provider: UNICARE in Illinois
Coverage: 2 out of 10
Claims: 1 out of 10
Customer Service: 1 out of 10
Cost: 5 out of 10
Recommend: No
Review: Skip this One!
After much comparing we picked what we thought was the best coverage for the money - N O T !! No matter what the claim it's been denied for some reason or another. I have 5K+ worth of bills from tests resulting from numerous doctor visits. We knew 2K wouldn't be paid due to the deductible. WRONG! So far, they've only put $250 towards the deductible. It's supposed to be PPO yet I'm constantly having to pay FULL amount?? That is provided they pay. They're so proud of their 1-2 day processing but I don't think they even look at anything. Deny, deny, deny, or need more info - anything to keep from paying.
Comments [ 1 ]
Submitted by: Frustrated
27 year-old   ::   Female Reviewer   ::   Windy City

Date Submitted: July 25, 2007
Insurance Provider: UNICARE in Illinois
Coverage: 3 out of 10
Claims: 1 out of 10
Customer Service: 1 out of 10
Cost: 5 out of 10
Recommend: No
Review: TERRIBLE!!!!!
Unicare seemed like a great plan for me. I was working for myself as a consultant. They did not cover what they said and the 100% dental - right - it has been 4 months and I have made 8 calls to customer service. NOT ONE - supervisors included can tell me what is going on. They say I am covered, not covered, their systems aren't up to date, etc.. TERRIBLE!!!!
Comments [ 0 ]
Submitted by: frustrated customer
32 year-old   ::   Female Reviewer   ::   Chicago

Date Submitted: July 3, 2007
Insurance Provider: UNICARE in Texas
Coverage: 3 out of 10
Claims: 3 out of 10
Customer Service: 3 out of 10
Cost: 7 out of 10
Recommend: No
Review: bad choice
It was a bad choice. Even the nurses seemed to have a hard time from rolling their eyes when I told them who my insurance coverage was with.
Comments [ 0 ]
Submitted by: Madi
52 year-old   ::   Female Reviewer   ::   Austin, Texas